Utopia and Its Discontents

From Matthew Charles – Thanks!

Pedagogy & the Inhumanities

Ahead of my presentation on ‘The Catastrophic Function in Contemporary Culture’ at the ‘Fragments of Time’ conference on 16th October, here’s my article on contemporary utopianism, which forms the backdrop to the ideas I hope to develop there.  I’m looking forward to returning to some of the tentative suggestions I raised about science fiction and the supernatural in the short coda to this article. Although not directly related to the topic of pedagogy and education, I was tempted to return to the theme of the “dead/undead” as a political category following my appeal to the possibility of “zombie zones of action” in relation to the crisis of contemporary education.

This article was originally published in Volume 18 (Winter 2010) of Studies in Social and Political Thought  and based on a paper I gave at the ‘Utopia, Dystopia and Critical Theory’ conference in May 2010, hosted by the Centre for…

View original post 4,580 more words

About Wit

I'm currently busy wearing holes in my shoes, trying to live on the edge of employment. I was raised on brown bread in the flatlands, but now I live in the cradle of the North West.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

